PERSPECTIVE: How I Grew To Be a Powerful Self-Advocate

By Allison Cameron Gray, Undivided researcher and disability activist 

I am a college graduate with cerebral palsy. The ADA was passed when I was 2 years old, in large part due to the pioneering activism of Judith (Judy) Heumann. I was delighted to learn that Undivided was hosting a Live Chat with Judy during my first week working with the organization. I want to share a little about what the ADA and Judy’s work has meant to me, what I’ve learned about standing up for myself, and what I took away from the conversation with Judy about how parents can raise their children to be self-advocates.

My mother was a Licensed Clinical Social Worker and was familiar with the disability community, so this background gave her a head start as my first advocate. “What does the law say?” is a common question in our house. I was speaking at public hearings by age 10 and running my own IEPs in high school. Suffice it to say, my parents raised me to be a strong self-advocate.

Judy and I were both fortunate to have supportive parents who enabled us to find our voices. During our live conversation with her on June 19, Judy told us that her parents lived in a two-story house with no bedrooms or bathrooms on the first floor, so her parents had to carry her up and down the stairs. When she was five, they built a bedroom, bathroom, and ramp on the ground floor. However, the room was so cramped that Judy was unable to reach her closet using her wheelchair, so her mother picked out her outfits. “Camp was the first time, when I was 9 years old, that I was able to make decisions about what I wanted to wear,” she told us. 

A young woman using a wheelchair smiles at the camera. She has light hair pulled into a bun, a wide smile, and is wearing a printed floral dress. The backdrop behind her has The Magic Castle 55 printed on it.